(Original on kaizers.no, Text backup here)

(Photo: Kent Skibstad. Geir Zahl and Kaizers are ready for some new beautiful festival nights! Here from RxR last year.)

The festival season starts tomorrow!

Working Class Hero festival in Drammen is the first stop for the bustling Kaizers, who are back from 14 days of vacation. We talked with Geir Kaizer, who just returned from New York!

- We did our most intense period of touring ever this winter and spring. We ended up doing 62 shows, all over the whole country, so it was great to take a little break now. Nice to hang about a bit in America again.

- And now you're ready for the summer season?

- Absolutely! And we continue where we left off in terms of Volume II philosophy, that is to play a lot and everywhere in the whole country. We'll start in Drammen tomorrow, and I think we haven't played outdoors there since 2004 or something like that, when we played with Briskeby and the Dumdum Boys. I remember that as an awesome night. We're looking forward to repeat this! There are still tickets left as well, so just come by!

- The festival premiere is in the east of Norway, but then you go west and play your home grounds on Saturday?

- It has almost become a tradition that we play for an audience from Jæren at Jærnåttå festival. Of course this is a bit special, at least for the three of us who are from the area; to perform on the main square in Bryne and play our songs for everyone from neighbors to old teachers, friends, and family. In addition, we actually received an honor award by the Time municipality this year, so now we have to really prove ourselves worthy of the honor!

- You generally enjoy playing at festivals, don't you?

- We do, and we've enjoyed it for ten years now. The festival concept offers so much variance; you must be prepared for all sorts of contingencies, ranging from weather conditions to the atmosphere to the sound to insects to strange food to the schedule to change over to failing equipment to social colleagues to eager fans. We have played for any crowd ranging from 40 people in rural areas in Finland to 50000 at Roskilde, and pretty much everything in between. And it's an exciting challenge to present yourself to people who have never heard you before, while at the same time also accounting for people who know all the records by heart. But then that is what we like. Offense and defense position at the same time!

- And since this year has been busy up to now, the summer won't be a holiday camp either?

- Certainly not! In addition to all the festivals we will work on Volume III, thus record the arrangements, which Erlend Skomsvoll has written, with the Stavanger Symphonic Orchestra. We are going to mix Volume three at Duper in Bergen, and in addition we are going to Budapest for a short week and record music videos for two Volume III songs. In other words, events will converge this summer!

Check where Kaizers are playing near you here!




Konzertjunkie on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/ konzertjunkie
Latest tweets from kaizers_kj:
RT @_faervel: Janove Ottesen by Diskort @ DA https://t.co/3cdPxEXZwB
Sep 18
Og alt me har er minner ... om Siste Dansen! Five years ago today ... which means five buckets of tears. :,,,,,-( A? https://t.co/utRcw86P1S
Sep 14
RT @chiliklaus: NEW: Chili Klaus & Janove Ottesen ??? | The Spicy Life |: https://t.co/XKMlGklT7m via @YouTube
Sep 12
Here's the translation of "En større dag": English - https://t.co/w1l6jbL4lv // German - https://t.co/yUA1qas9kX
Sep 10
Janove is releasing songs from his new Spindelvevriff EP every Friday - find the links to the songs and the transla? https://t.co/5bTt4ih4zP
Sep 7
Og alt me har er minner ... om Bris! https://t.co/pjttf9z9Pl
Sep 6
Og alt me har er minner ... om Maestro! https://t.co/gGAoVr3j6q
Aug 30
RT @IndieRecordings: Skambankt are out with the first ever live album - "Rockefeller 09.03.18"! Stream/download:? https://t.co/SULM6p9zTn
Aug 24
Og alt me har er minner ... fra fotballbanen! https://t.co/TM5ApWNZDO
Aug 23
Og alt me har er minner ... fra Lydverket! https://t.co/wTwho4F8Og
Aug 16
2012/5/31: Festival summer!

(Original auf kaizers.no, Backup des Textes hier)

(Foto: Kent Skibstad. Geir Zahl und Kaizers sind bereit für weitere schöne Festivalnächte! Hier vom RxR im letzten Jahr.)

Morgen wird die Festival-Saison eingeläutet!

Das "Working Class Hero"-Festival in Drammen ist die erste Station für die frühjahrsrührigen Kaizer, die gerade aus einem 14-tägigen Urlaub zurück sind. Wir haben uns mit Geir Kaizer unterhalten, frisch zurück aus New York!

- Im Winter und Frühjahr haben wir unsere intensivste Tourperiode überhaupt absolviert. Am Ende waren es 62 Gigs überall im ganzen Land, daher war es wunderbar, sich jetzt einen kurzen Urlaub zu gönnen. Toll, noch mal ein bisschen in Amerika abzuhängen.

- Und jetzt seid ihr für die Sommersaison bereit?

- Absolut! Und wir machen im Sinne der Vol.-II-Philosophie genau dort weiter, wo wir aufgehört haben, nämlich viel zu spielen, und das überall im ganzen Land. Wir fangen morgen in Drammen an, und da haben wir wohl seit 2004 oder so nicht mehr draußen gespielt, als wir mit Briskeby und den Dumdum Boys gespielt haben. Ich habe das als einen wundervollen Abend in Erinnerung. Wir freuen uns darauf, das zu wiederholen! Es gibt auch noch Tickets, also einfach vorbeikommen!

- Die Festivalpremiere findet in Ostnorwegen statt, bevor ihr dann nach Westen fahrt und am Samstag ein Heimspiel habt?

- Es hat schon fast Tradition, dass wir beim Jærnåttå-Festival für ein Publikum aus Jæren spielen. Das ist natürlich etwas Besonders, zumindest für uns drei, die wir aus der Gegend kommen, in Bryne auf dem Marktplatz zu stehen und für alle dort zu spielen, von Nachbarn und alten Lehrern bis hin zu Freunden und Familie. Außerdem haben wir ja dieses Jahr den Ehrenpreis der Time-Gemeinde bekommen, daher müssen wir uns jetzt wirklich der Ehre würdig beweisen!

- Ihr habt generell Spaß dabei, auf Festivals zu spielen, oder?

- Oh ja, und das schon seit zehn Jahren. Das Festival-Konzept bietet Raum für so vieles, man muss auf alle möglichen Eventualitäten vorbereitet sein, von den Witterungsbedingungen über die Stimmung und die Soundverhältnisse bis hin zu Insekten, seltsamem Essen, Spielzeiten, Change Over, Probleme mit dem Equipment, soziale Kollegen und eifrige Fans. Wir haben schon für 40 Mann in einem Dorf in Finnland und für 50000 beim Roskilde gespielt, und im Großen und Ganzen alles dazwischen. Und es ist eine spannende Herausforderung, sich Leuten zu präsentieren, die einen nie zuvor gehört haben, während man gleichzeitig die Leute berücksichtigt, die alle Platten in- und auswendig kennen. Aber genau das mögen wir. Angriffs- und Verteidigunsposition gleichzeitig!

- Und wenn dieses Jahr bisher so viel zu tun war, wird der Sommer wohl auch kein Ferienlager?

- Sicher nicht! Zusätzlich zu all den Festivals werden wir an Vol. III arbeiten, das heißt, wir werden mit dem Stavanger Symphonieorchester die Arrangements aufnehmen, die Erlend Skomsvoll geschrieben hat. Wir werden Vol. drei im Duper in Bergen mischen, und außerdem werden wir eine knappe Woche nach Budapest reisen, um Musikvideos für zwei Vol.-III-Lieder einzuspielen. Oder anders ausgedrückt, diesen Sommer läuft so einiges zusammen!

Finde hier heraus, wo Kaizers in deiner Nähe spielen!




Konzertjunkie auf Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/ konzertjunkie
Letzte Tweets von kaizers_kj:
RT @feliciaxnoelle: @GreinerNOR Har møtt flere med tanke på at jeg var musikkjournalist i mitt forrige liv. Det aller fineste møtet var? https://t.co/Dw9UJNPvvJ
Jul 24
RT @Kuuttituutti: "Take my hat, Take my shoes, Take my extravaganza! Take control over the continent " Kaizers Orchresta- Kontroll p? https://t.co/qgOSlzkVYB
Jul 17
RT @on_this_loop: After all these years I can surely say @KaizrsOrchestra is the best band on the planet. Jeg savner dere så masse.. ?
Jul 4
RT @MishaNuis: Here's my cover of '170' by Kaizers Orchestra. It's sung in Norwegian dialect and I had some trouble with the high? https://t.co/fnwC2LxmaW
Jun 11
RT @MortenAbel: Vi feirer 1 mai på Folken i kveld. Gleder meg stort til å spille med denne powertrio-en. #mortenabel #janove? https://t.co/20gbyhuRhP
May 1
RT @RadioHaugaland: Janove Ottesen til Vangen - https://t.co/XidFXoPjis https://t.co/S4zxNN7mW0
Apr 17
Have you seen the music video for "Bak en sky heim"? https://t.co/ClABO5jwhO
Apr 14
RT @plntypublish: Janove Ottesen har jobbet som komponist med The Mute i fire år allerede. Den 29. mars debuterer han som komponist f? https://t.co/Jp0LQMBOEI
Mar 28
RT @kellybear642: The art of Kaizers Orchestra's Violeta Violeta trilogy albums is really beautiful https://t.co/qt4kiPmSwp
Mar 25
Morten Abel, Froddi, Janove Ottesen, Skambankt og Tøfl er blant artistene som deltar på 1. mai-konserten for et pol? https://t.co/gOhtm4HqCh
Mar 19
31.5.2012: Festivalsommer!