The concert in Prague was organized by a Norwegian student union – which meant that you basically didn’t hear anything but Norwegian after you entered the venue, and hardly any Czech at all. As a result, we got a Norwegian concert in the middle of the European tour, in a way. Okay, actually it was more of a “bygde concert” than a real Kaizers concert, thus a “happening” where everybody wanted to attend, no matter if they cared about Kaizers or not – but it was definitely impressive. And the venue was packed!

Right from the beginning you could notice that the noise level in the audience was very high – not everyone was there to see the concert, but it was an “event” for the Norwegian students in the Czech Republic. In addition, only some of the people actually knew the songs – except for the hits of course. Hjerteknuser, for example, was sung by the audience alone. But other Violeta songs or for example Min kvite russer seemed to be completely unknown to most of the audience. I found it really funny when the Jackal had to explain three times that the song title is En for orgelet, en for MEG, and then the audience didn’t manage to figure out the correct rhythm even until the end of the song. During Kvite russer, the Jackal started improvising a bit at the end, which caused the audience to lose track, so that they didn’t know anymore how to sing along.

And still – the atmosphere was splendid, of course! Right in the beginning, the Jackal asked who was from Norway – and after about 95% raised their hands, the Jackal decided to do the announcements in Norwegian. “If you don’t understand, just ask your neighbor!”

In the beginning, it seemed like the audience had to wake up a bit first (and like they didn’t know any of the songs), but throughout the concert, they got louder and more enthusiastic. During Kontroll på kontinentet, the Jackal told us that this was maybe the best audience on the tour – well, it is much easier for Norwegians to sing along than it is for Europeans. =;-) (But then, the Europeans usually do a much better job with Kvite russer …) And Killmaster proved the point by jumping into the audience for his solo, and the crowd carried him across the room. It worked almost TOO well, ’cause it took really long until he made it back on stage. The following hits got a great reaction, of course, and the grins on stage were basically as broad as they could get.

There was a reason to celebrate as well – not only because of the prominent visitor Bjørn Eidsvåg (if I understood correctly; didn’t see him), but also because of tour manager Marcus’ 50th birthday. Gosh, he looks young for that age. =;-)

So we got some cake! A birthday cake in Swedish colors after the concert at the merch, and another one with the Kaizers logo on stage after we passed the “Kaizer test” (to cheer enough for Forloveren). Kaizers worked on that cake with the crowbar to “cut” it into pieces. Or mess it up, that’s probably the more fitting way to describe it. =;-)

What I found surprising was that they did not play Svarte katter. They had played that one at all other concerts – but the Roxy is known for a strict curfew, so maybe there just wasn’t enough time to fit in all songs. They also had Drøm videre, Violeta on the setlist but didn’t play it.

Not much more to report, actually – all in all, it was a great concert with an awesome atmosphere. However, I really don’t want to compare it to any other concerts of the tour, because it basically was a Norwegian concert somewhere in Europe.

The setlist:

Comments

Name:
(Spam Protection, sorry!)
Comment:


Konzertjunkie on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/ konzertjunkie
Latest tweets from kaizers_kj:
RT @asbjornmyhre: Man vet ikke hva man har før det er borte. Kaizers Orchestra nå på NRK3 et godt eksempel.
Nov 17
RT @RolfVidar: Her sitter jeg seint på en fredag kveld og ser på en gammel konsert fra Oslo Spektrum, og finner ut at jeg virkelig? https://t.co/JIijVCoYol
Nov 17
Happy St. Kaizers Day! :D #StKaizersDay #KaizersOrchestra https://t.co/JdMGlzKvbL
Nov 11
Check out the lyrics and translations of Janove's Spindelvevriff EP here: https://t.co/ApQzqNyYRX (English)? https://t.co/Q0Pf1HL8b7
Sep 30
RT @NarwhalsRider: Kaizers Orchestra ???Janove Ottesen. #KaizersOrchestra #?? https://t.co/ZnntusK3ii
Sep 25
RT @_faervel: Janove Ottesen by Diskort @ DA https://t.co/3cdPxEXZwB
Sep 18
Og alt me har er minner ... om Siste Dansen! Five years ago today ... which means five buckets of tears. :,,,,,-( A? https://t.co/utRcw86P1S
Sep 13
RT @chiliklaus: NEW: Chili Klaus & Janove Ottesen ??? | The Spicy Life |: https://t.co/XKMlGklT7m via @YouTube
Sep 12
Here's the translation of "En større dag": English - https://t.co/w1l6jbL4lv // German - https://t.co/yUA1qas9kX
Sep 10
Janove is releasing songs from his new Spindelvevriff EP every Friday - find the links to the songs and the transla? https://t.co/5bTt4ih4zP
Sep 7
2013/3/8: Roxy, Prag

Das Konzert in Prag wurde von einer norwegischen Studentenvereinigung organisiert, dementsprechend hörte man vom Einlass an eigentlich ausschließlich Norwegisch und so gut wie überhaupt kein Tschechisch. Und die Folge war, dass wir mitten in der Europa-Tour quasi ein Konzert in Norwegen bekamen. Okay, es war natürlich in gewisser Weise ein “Bygde-Konzert”, also mehr Volksfeststimmung als Kaizers-Konzert – aber eindrucksvoll war’s trotzdem. Und gut voll auch!

Man merkte von Beginn, dass der Lautstärkepegel im Publikum sehr hoch war – nicht jeder war dort, um das Konzert zu sehen, sondern es war einfach ein “Event” für die norwegischen Studenten in Tschechien. Außerdem kannte auch lange nicht jeder die Lieder – die Hits natürlich, keine Frage; Hjerteknuser wurde z.B. ausschließlich vom Publikum gesungen. Aber andere Violeta-Songs oder z.B. Min kvite russer schienen vielen gänzlich unbekannt zu sein. Lustig fand ich es, als der Jackal dreimal erklären musste, dass es En for orgelet, en for MEG heißt, und das Publikum den Rhythmus auch ganz am Ende des Liedes noch nicht raus hatte. Bei Kvite russer improvisierte der Jackal am Ende ein bisschen rum und brachte das Publikum damit ziemlich raus.

Und dennoch – die Stimmung war natürlich grandios! Schon zu Beginn wurde gefragt, wer aus Norwegen ist – und nachdem ca. 95% sich meldeten, beschloss der Jackal, die Ansagen diesmal alle auf Norwegisch zu machen. “Wer es nicht versteht, kann ja seinen Nebenmann fragen!”

Am Anfang hatte ich das Gefühl, dass das Publikum erst noch ein wenig auftauen musste (und eben auch die Lieder nicht kannte), aber mit der Zeit wurde es dann immer lauter und enthusiastischer. Bei Kontroll på kontinentet erklärte der Jackal, dass dies vielleicht das beste Publikum auf der Tour sei – nun ja, Norweger tun sich nun mal leichter mit dem Mitsingen als Europäer. =;-) (Wobei – Kvite russer kriegen die Europäer deutlich besser hin …) Und Killmaster unterstrich das Ganze damit, dass er sich bei seinem Solo rückwärts ins Publikum fallen und auf Händen tragen ließ – was fast ZU gut funktionierte, denn es dauerte lange, bis er es zurück zur Bühne schaffte. Die folgenden Hits wurden natürlich absolut abgefeiert, und das Grinsen auf der Bühne hätten breiter kaum sein können.

Grund zum Feiern gab es auch – nicht nur hoher Besuch von Bjørn Eidsvåg (wenn ich’s richtig verstanden hab, gesehen hab ich ihn nicht), sondern auch den 50. Geburtstag von Tourmanager Marcus. Na, der hat sich aber gut gehalten für das Alter. =;-)

Daher gab’s natürlich Kuchen – einmal eine Geburstagstorte in schwedischen Farben nach dem Konzert am Merchstand, einmal eine mit Kaizerlogo auf der Bühne, nachdem wir den “Kaizer-Test” bestanden und Forloveren zu Genüge bejubelt hatten. Diese Torte wurde dann standesgemäß mit dem Brecheisen auf der Tonne zerteilt. Oder sollte ich “zermatscht” schreiben? =;-)

Ungewöhnlich fand ich, dass Svarte katter nicht gespielt wurde, das war ja bei allen anderen Konzerten dabei – allerdings ist das Roxy dafür bekannt, einen strengen Curfew zu haben, vielleicht war also einfach die Zeit zu knapp, um alle Lieder unterzubringen. Auf der Setliste stand eigentlich auch noch Drøm videre, Violeta, was aber nicht gespielt wurde.

Viel mehr gibt’s nicht zu berichten – es war aber definitiv ein tolles Konzert mit super Stimmung. Allerdings absolut nicht vergleichbar mit den anderen Konzerten der Tour, da es eigentlich ein Norwegen-Konzert mitten in Europa war.

Die Setliste:

Kommentare

Name:
(Spam Protection, sorry!)
Kommentar:


Konzertjunkie auf Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/ konzertjunkie
Letzte Tweets von kaizers_kj:
RT @RadioHaugaland: Janove Ottesen til Vangen - https://t.co/XidFXoPjis https://t.co/S4zxNN7mW0
Apr 17
Have you seen the music video for "Bak en sky heim"? https://t.co/ClABO5jwhO
Apr 14
RT @plntypublish: Janove Ottesen har jobbet som komponist med The Mute i fire år allerede. Den 29. mars debuterer han som komponist f? https://t.co/Jp0LQMBOEI
Mar 28
RT @kellybear642: The art of Kaizers Orchestra's Violeta Violeta trilogy albums is really beautiful https://t.co/qt4kiPmSwp
Mar 25
Morten Abel, Froddi, Janove Ottesen, Skambankt og Tøfl er blant artistene som deltar på 1. mai-konserten for et pol? https://t.co/gOhtm4HqCh
Mar 19
RT @karonicolaysen: Oktober kan ikke komme fort nok. Janove i operaen, jeg er klar! ?
Feb 23
Skambankt's new single "For en evighet" with bonus track "Om nettene" is out! https://t.co/fD8Nz9Pyur
Feb 17
RT @plntypublish: Mens Madrugada tok Oslo med storm holdt heldigvis naturen seg i ro på Svalbard. Der har Polarjazz levert noen av N? https://t.co/M3LtxqFW1g
Feb 4
RT @enijya: «sjøl om du e naturlig født, betyr ikkje d at du får ein naturlig død» e den mest ominous trusselen eg har hørt, cr? https://t.co/Ao63e0pH2H
Jan 7
RT @line_risholm: En storslått veldedighetskonsert med Janove Ottosen, Ane Brun, Sondre Justad, Thomas Dybdahl og fantastiske Stavang? https://t.co/sGrenIZnJ0
Jan 5
8.3.2013: Roxy, Prag